Francis Valles Bejar ’07 Third place for Sculpture in recent Shell National Student’s Art Competition


Brod Francis Bejar’s “It seems like yesterday, Nay akalain mo” is a sculpture made entirely of epoxy mounted on wood and was first shown during the workshops for the Pasundayag sa Sentenaryo in 2007 at the UP Main Library.

A total of 1,229 entries from all over the Philippines vied for top honors in the country’s longest running and prestigious student art contest, the Shell National Students Art Competition.

Now on its 41st year, the Shell art competition winners were feted at the Ayala Museum in Makati, with acclaimed artist Señor Juvenal Sanso as guest of honor.

The best 100 entries of the competition are on exhibit until October 17 at the Ground Floor Gallery of Ayala Museum. Admission to the exhibition is free.

The winning entries were chosen by a panel of judges composed of some of the country’s most respected artists. They were: Napoleon Abueva, Ral Arrogante, Junyee, Ramon Orlina and Reggie Yuson for sculpture; Angel Cacnio, Norberto Carating, Antipas Delotavo, Renato Habulan and Nemi Miranda for watercolor; Augusto Albor, Angelito Antonio, Danilo Dalena, Soler Santos and Nestor Olarte Vinluan for oil/acrylic; Pablo Biglang-Awa, Francisco Doplon, Edwin Loyola, Mario Parial and Jose Tence Ruiz for digital fine arts.

Jhemuel Salvador of the Technological University of the Philippines won the top prize in the oil/acrylic category; Arnica Acantilado of the Polytechnic University of the Philippines, second; and Emard Cañedo of TUP, third prize.

Honorable mention went to Raffy Napay of EARIST, Jhona Grace Carpio of UE-Caloocan, and Emil Jay Guiang of TUP.

Winners in the watercolor category were: First, Rommel Ramota of the Polytechnic University of the Philippines; second, Benedict Arquero from the University of Northern Philippines; third, Rommel Sampana of Bulacan State University.
Honorable mention winners were: Seigfred Prado of Western Visayas College of Science and Technology, Raynold Beltran of EARIST, and UE-Caloocan’s Dhavee Morato.

Apolonio Quirap, Jr. from the Ford Academy of the Arts in Davao City won first prize in sculpture. Rochelle Albert Manuel of FEU, bagged the second prize for her entry crafted out of scrap metal; Frances Valles Bejar of UP Diliman came in third.

Honorable mention awardees in sculpture were: Jose Benedict Hernandez of PWU, Donna Mae Alzate of FEU for, and Anna Katrina Bisda of UE-Caloocan.

UP Diliman student Trisha Ma. Irene Doctor won first place in the digital fine arts category; Ma. Elizabeth Arcega of UST second prize winner; and Lingcon Joe R. Lucipao from the University of Makati, third place.

Honorable Mention awards went to Isabelle Anne Abuso of UST, James Shanahben De Castro of TUP, and Milo Ezel Buñao of PUP.

The 41st NSAC was sponsored by The SM Supermalls, Air 21, Ayala Museum, Canson art papers/Star Paper Corporation, National Bookstore, Shell Helix, Shell V-Power, Shell Card and Shellane.

Exhibit ends on October 17, 2008 at the Ground Floor of the Ayala Museum in Makati.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s