Gino Bueza ’05 named CCP Thirteen Artists Awardee

Gino Bueza ’05

This year’s awardees will each receive a cash grant to create new work for a group exhibition at the Cultural Center of the Philippines Main Gallery

The Cultural Center of the Philippines (CCP) announced this year’s new 13 artist awardees on Wednesday, June 30

The 2021 awardees, announced in an online press conference for the Thirteen Artists Awards (TAA), are the following:

  • Allan Balisi
  • Nice Buenaventura
  • Gino Bueza ’05
  • Mars Bugaoan
  • Rocky Cajigan
  • Geloy Concepcion
  • Patrick Cruz
  • Ian Carlo Jaucian
  • KoloWn
  • Czar Kristoff
  • Lou Lim
  • Ryan Villamael
  • Catherine Sarah Young

The TAA awards ceremony will be held at a later date.

The 13 awardees are each eligible to a cash grant to create new work for a group exhibition at the CCP Bulwagang Juan Luna (Main Gallery). This year, Shireen Seno (13 Artists 2018) will be curating the exhibition, while Mac Valdezco (13 Artists 2006) will be designing the trophy.

Awardees are also invited to participate in the CCP’s public programs of discussions, lectures, and workshops.

The selection committee this year includes artists Imelda Cajipe Endaya (13 Artists 1990), Nona Garcia (13 Artists 2003), Nap Jamir II (13 Artists 1974), Gerry Tan (13 Artists 1988), and Rica Estrada of the CCP Visual Arts and Museum Division. The committee selected together this year’s roster among 88 individual artist portfolios.

An awardee is selected based on four criteria:

  • artistic integrity, innovativeness, and forcefulness of ideas
  • responsiveness to contemporary realities
  • use of any of the contemporary visual art forms (painting, sculpture, multimedia, installation, performance art, photography, and printmaking)
  • has held at least one individual exhibition and
    participated in group shows for at least three years

The CCP 13 Artists Awards is on its 18th year of conferment, making it the oldest government award for visual artists. Since its 50th founding anniversary in 2020, the awards body has named 198 artists, which includes one National Artist and four Gawad CCP awardees. –