The University of the Philippines Artists’ Circle, is a university fraternity for artists based in the University of the Philippines which shares a long history and association with the UP College of Fine Arts.

Alumni of the Artists’ Circle Fraternity currently constitute a large portion of the UP College of Fine Arts faculty. It accepts into membership those who are practitioners of an art form and enrolled at any degree-granting unit of the University in Diliman and Baguio. When it was founded in 1972, The fraternity primarily focused on the visual arts but has since recruited members who focused in theater, literature, music, architecture and design. AC is regarded as an institution of notable accomplishment and reputation in the Philippine art scene.

The Artists’ Circle holds exhibits and shows throughout the year but the most prominent is its annual exhibition, the Kalipunan which ran at galleries from February 2005-March 2010, featuring varying works and participating artists from both residents and alumni of the UP Artists’ Circle.

The UP Artists’ Circle renews it recognition yearly from the UP Office of Student Affairs.

Service through Art








The Fraternity Seal


The Artists’ Circle drew its fraternity seal based on the letter “A” enclosed in shape of a circle surrounded by a laurel wreath. The number of laurel leaves symbolize the thirteen founders of the fraternity. The angle of the triangle in letter “A” is also symbolic– it corresponds to the founding date of the Fraternity.

The seal uses two colors: Royal Blue and Yellow.

Pantone colors:

Screen Shot 2018-05-09 at 9.45.48 PMScreen Shot 2018-05-09 at 9.45.41 PM

Our Mission

The Artists’ Circle is dedicated to developing artists of integrity, intellect, and high moral character and to fostering a truly lifelong fraternal experience.

To fulfill this mission, The AC Fraternity will:

• Encourage all our members to live the values taught in our ritual.
• Provide innovative services and programs designed to enrich the lives of our undergraduates, alumni, and communities.
• Create opportunities for our undergraduate and alumni members to participate in the life of the Artists’ Circle frat man on a daily basis.
• Promote and foster a spirit of pride, loyalty, inclusion and respect for the Artists’ Circle and its rich history.
• Empower our undergraduate and alumni members to help shape our future by being informed ambassadors and involved advocates.
• Encourage our undergraduate and alumni members to take an active role in advancing the Artists’ Circle interests by volunteering their time and by contributing to the Fraternity’s annual giving campaign.
• Communicate effectively and efficiently with our alumni, students and host institutions through various channels on a continuous basis.
• Value academic achievement and practice academic integrity.
• Establish positive and lasting relationships with our host institutions, alumni and communities.
• Encourage our members to be of strong mind and body.

The Creed of the Fraternity

Service through Art.

Our Vision

The Artists’ Circle will set the standard of integrity, artistic excellence, and achievement for our members, host institutions, and the communities in which we live.

Our Integrity

Our Founders created the Artists’ Circle to attract men committed to the full development of their intellectual and personal potential. This object requires that a community of trust exist among all brothers, along with a faithful devotion to truth and honor. Integrity is demanded in all relationships and pursuits, both personal and academic.

Notable members

  • Ramon Jimenez ’72, advertiser, Department of Tourism Secretary (2011-2016)
  • Benjamin Cabangis ’74, painter, CCP Thirteen Artists Awardee (1978)
  • Neil Doloricon ’74,  Former Dean of the College of Fine Arts, CCP Thirteen Artists Awardee (1990)
  • Leonardo Rosete ’74, incumbent Dean of the UP College of Fine Arts
  • Mariano del Rosario ’74, painter, CCP Thirteen Artists Awardee (1978)
  • Rock Drilon ’74, painter and gallerist
  • Roberto Acosta ’74, Metrobank Art and Design Excellence Award- Sculpture Program Grand Award (2016)
  • Popo San Pascual ’78, painter, CCP Thirteen Artists Awardee (1988)
  • Prudencio ‘Dengcoy’ Miel ’81, painter and cartoonist whose works have appeared in the New York Times an Straits Times of Singapore.
  • Bernardo Pacquing ’84, painter, CCP Thirteen Artists Awardee (2000)
  • Ferdinand Doctolero ’85, painter and Head of Fine Arts Department, Technological University of the Philippines
  • Mark Meily ’87, multi-awarded film-maker and Palanca Prize-Winning writer
  • Dino Ignacio ’95, digital artist, Webby Award Winner (1998)
  • Poklong Anading ’95, multi-media artist, CCP Thirteen Artists Awardee (2006), winner of the Ateneo Art Awards (2008)
  • Ernest Concepcion ’95, painter and CCP Thirteen Artists Awardee (2015)
  • Rodel Tapaya ’97, painter and Signature Art Prize winner (2010), Thirteen Artists Awardee (2013)
  • Lex Marcos ’97, scenic designer and stage actor
  • Tomas Leonor ’04, of STEP Juan, volunteer who is walking all over the Philippines for children with cancer.
  • Cian Dayrit ’08, multi-media Artist, CCP Thirteen Artists Awardee (2018), and winner of the Ateneo Art Awards (2017)